fairosf

“Monday Night in Ashland” from Julianna Stephanie Ojeda

In Assistantship, Community Producitons, Directing, Green Show, Uncategorized on March 29, 2017 at 10:14 AM

Untitled 2

When you immerse yourself in a new environment, often times you forget to reflect. Thank you for the weekly assignment.

Week two went by fast! I explored Ashland more and stumbled on to the Hip Hop Poetry Open Mic. I walked in and was asked if I’m sharing poetry or watching. I’m not a poet but that question made me wish I had material to share with the community. I entered took my seat and looked around. There was a combination of OSF employees, locals, tourist, and people that were just hiking through and were told hours before that this event was happening.

I think this community event in a nutshell captured the beauty of what OSF is. “We welcome ALL” is prominently displayed across the festival buildings – on windows, on walls, near doorways. To walk into a room with such an eclectic group of audience members/performers was magical. The pieces went from poetry to rap to guitar playing to singing. At one point a performer lent her guitar to the man that heard about the event hours before. One of the actors from the show I’m assistant directing was there with her husband and they shared a romantic love ballad rap duet. The sound technician also took his turn and played a tear-jerking piece of music that moved my soul and all he asked is that we think of the women that have made an impact on our lives.

I left the Hip Hop Poetry Open Mic with my heart opened and my imagination running, walked into my housing and I wrote some poetry.

I was glad that I didn’t stay inside on my Monday off.

Leave a Reply

