fairosf

“Getting Comfy” from Kayla Jackson

In Internship on June 24, 2015 at 11:00 AM

Admin Hallway

As I am getting more comfortable here, I am noticing the different ways people act with one another. While I imagined my first time in a business setting to be very cut throat and strict, I am happy to say that this is not the case at all. It is a joy to sit at the end of the hall and listen all day to the muffled voices behind office doors that more than often end in laughter. It is clear to me that these people here live in a very special culture where work is not work. It is life. This does not mean they all overwork so much that they have no life (although I am constantly impressed by how much people here put in the extra effort to be great) but rather they do not come to “work” as much as they come to just another part of their life.

The sense of community here is much greater than other theatre settings I have found myself in. I have been in many environments where everybody is there to build themselves up and eventually surpass their colleagues. OSF stands apart from these places in the fact that no one is trying to outdo each other. They all work together to strive for the same overall goals. Someone working here can take comfort in the fact that no one is waiting for them to make the wrong move and can therefore work in peace and reach their highest level of excellence. I hope I can always be in this type of environment.

Leave a Reply

