fairosf

“What a Surprise” from Amelia Burke-Holt

In Amelia Burke-Holt, Internship, Props on January 23, 2014 at 8:52 AM

Amelia Burke-Holt 1.15

My first few days at OSF felt like I was back to the first week of college, something I was not too thrilled about. Being an introvert I am not a big fan of crowds, and feel uncomfortable doing ‘get to know you’ type of activities. I was pleased to see though, how friendly and welcoming everyone at OSF has been my first few days. Very little have I felt pressured to go out and get to know people, because they have come to me. I was also impressed by the variety of people I met and how people who worked in various areas at OSF all mixed together. In my high school theater, there was always the attitude that actors and technicians didn’t mingle, mostly due to difference in interests and personality. In college theater, this feeling wasn’t as universal, but I still found most of my friendships with others involved in scenery. I was pleasantly surprised then, to join a group of people expecting them all to belong to one department because of how well they seemed to know each other, to find a mix of all different interests.

Outside of the variety of people I spoke to on my first day at OSF, I have not spent much time with people outside the department I am working in, however every time someone walks through the shop, before they go I hear ‘Oh, have you met our intern yet?’ Overall, I have found the experience I dreaded of meeting new people in a new place to be surprisingly painless, and I look forward to getting to know more people as I explore all OSF has to offer me.

Leave a Reply

