fairosf

“It Begins” from K. Jordan

In Assistantship, K Jordan, Scenic Paint on January 16, 2014 at 9:10 AM

K Jordan 11.14

Hello folks, this is Jordan! I’m the newest Scenic Paint Assistant in the scene shop. While I most recently lived in Anchorage, AK, I’m originally from Southern California. I attended the Theatre Academy at Los Angeles City College where I realized painting was my preferred contribution to theatre. I’ve worked at several theatres throughout Los Angeles and its surrounding areas but where I truly honed my skills was at the Pacific Conservatory for the Performing Arts in Santa Maria, CA. There I interned for two summers and a fall season. If you’re ever in central California, it’s definitely a must-see!

It’s my first week here and I’ve jumped right in. We’re currently working on the set of The Cocoanuts. Some of my co-workers and I have been working on the flooring and I’m loving the colors we’re using: peach, yellow, and green – very Florida! Pictured here is the floor in-progress: the beginnings of a palm tree, a sun, some lettering and peach diamonds along the edges. It’ll surely be a great escape from the cold when it opens.

In my time here so far, I love Ashland! I really enjoy being able to not only walk to work (exercise!) but the ability to walk to so many places around town. I’m also very pleased with the variety of restaurants there are! The co-op is especially fun to explore. There are quite a few interesting shops ranging from music, books, and clothing. Seems there’s always something new to discover and friendly people to enjoy it with.

Leave a Reply

