fairosf

“I’m Here!” from Kate McFarland

In Internship, Kate McFarland, Lighting Design on January 16, 2014 at 9:01 PM

Kate McFarland 1-8

Word of the Week: Welcome

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been a part of OSF for almost a week now. It seems like so much longer because I feel like I’m a part of the family and the community there.  Thinking back to my first day, I was somewhat nervous and feeling stressed about starting a new chapter of my life at such a grand place as the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. After meeting my colleagues, and the members of the lighting department I felt so welcome and at home. This is a place I’ve been dreaming of getting to since 8th grade. I’ve seen many shows, taken many a trip to Ashland, been a “Semmie” at the 2008 Summer Seminar for High School Juniors, applied to and studied at Southern Oregon University in the theater department, and finally the time came for me to apply for an internship.  When I got the call saying I was being offered an internship in the lighting department, I immediately accepted, but I at the time I don’t think it really hit me what I was being offered, what I had just accepted. It wasn’t until a day or two later that it really sunk in that I was going to be interning at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. This is a big deal. It’s proof that I can work to make my dreams and goals come true.  It’s amazing to think about the work I’ve put in over many years to get here. And now, it’s all paying off.

Leave a Reply

