fairosf

“Bittersweet” from Cynthia Booker

In Assistantship, Cynthia Booker, Sound Design on July 24, 2013 at 2:23 PM

Cynthia Booker 7.24

It is so bittersweet to be leaving this Monday. I have found great joy and pride in my work here at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. I have had to honor of working with five production, four designers, 3 spaces, nine fabulous sound technicians and engineers, and numerous theatre artists. I have also had the most pleasant summer weather I have ever experienced. I’ve been surrounded by a beautiful town with exquisite scenery. I have been challenged. I have grown. I have been blessed. The transient nature of working in theatre has always had two faces to me. You have the side where you can’t wait until it’s over and then the glorious side where you could wait a life time before it finished. I hate to leave this prosperous, vitalizing community but I know my current tenure has lapsed. I have to climb the next step on my path. But I am still holding out hope that one of the steps in my future leads me back to Ashland. I hope to return someday in any capacity to this cultivating company. In my first blog, I shared that I hope to find a home here in Ashland. I have indeed found a home branded in my heart and soul. I will carry the lessons with me throughout my life. After all, home is where the heart is. The people I have come to know, especially in the sound department will always hold my respect and admiration. Thank you Oregon Shakespeare for a beautiful experience.

 

Leave a Reply

