fairosf

“A Pile of Memories” from Julia Welch

In Uncategorized on February 24, 2012 at 4:12 PM

When I get home from working in the scene shop, the first thing I do is empty my pockets.  I’m always taking home a bit of lumber, or a screw, or some fabric and I began placing these items on my kitchen table.  The items have now formed a small pile of memories.  Each little thing reminds me of a project that I’ve worked on.

There’s a rag covered with dark blue paint from a day spend on my hands and knees in the New Theatre painting in tiny holes in the stage.  There is a piece of sandpaper from smoothing out the facing on a giant portal made for ANIMAL CRACKERS.  There is a bit of lumber I cut off some flats I made too long.  There are a lot of ear plugs.  A lot, lot, lot of earplugs. The blue fabric is from the rain effect in WHITE SNAKE and that reminds me of, again, spending days on my hands and knees in the New Theatre cutting yards and yards and yards.  Come to think of it, I feel like most of my internship has been spend on my hands and knees in the New Theatre.

Plus pencils, screws, nails, bolts, washers, pencils a plenty, safety glasses and bandaids (If I carry bandaids, I won’t have to use them.  If I forget, I will most likely cut myself.  I don’t know how that works, but it does).  Plus my coffee mug, an extra taken from the scene shop.

It may look like junk to other people, but it’s a pile of memories to me.

Leave a Reply

